The Second Filipino ReaderCon is Coming Soon!

Remember this?

Were you there last year? Do you remember how fun it was?

Or did you miss it? Because of school, work or whatever other reason? And do you feel bad for missing it until now?

Well guess what.

We’re having another one. :)

SAVE THE DATE!

The Second Filipino ReaderCon
August 18, 2012 (Saturday), 8:00 am – 6:00 pm
Filipinas Heritage Library

Be sure to check this site again for the next updates! Or you can like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter, if those are more of your thing. :)

See you soon!

One thought on “The Second Filipino ReaderCon is Coming Soon!

  1. Kristine says:

    Hi. I’m Kristine. I’m probably the only person here who doesn’t have a blog. I’m quite lazy and has problems finishing things I start. The old man in the town where I grew up told me I am good at chess, opening moves and such, but for the life of him, he couldn’t understand why I can’t checkmate the opponent even if I have the upper hand.

    I like to run and have been doing bikram yoga lately which ultimately led me to develop sciatica, a painful hip, butt and leg condition that I now spend my days looking longingly at my running shoes and weeping in despair.

    So I turned to reading again. I have not been reading very long. I started my passionate love affair with books at 18, just as my passionate (and first) love affair fizzled out. He gave me nothing but Misery (the Stephen King novel as well as the terrible emotion, pun intended).

    I don’t know if I can say I have a favorite book. It’s like saying you have a favorite parent. Which maybe one has but it’s something that one does not openly acknowledge, even silently to yourself. There are books that I will re-read again and again, such as Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s. The way I categorize my “people” (authors), I have one per country. I have my Italian, Umberto Eco; my Russian, Dostoyevsky (always the Brothers Karamazov for me, despite C&P’s popularity); Murakami is my Japanese; and the lovely Jorge Luis Borges is my Argentine, and so on.

    I think my reading preferences have matured over the years. In my youth, I could devour classic English novels with the likes of Hardy and Austen. And all the American writers I can get my hands on: Hemingway and Salinger were huge favorites. Now, I fear I have little patience for novels. I read everything without preference, but I do not intentionally buy self-help books and i am so out of touch with the modern contemporary writers. I guess I’m old-school, preferring even the science fiction writing of Ray Bradbury and Isaac Asimov than the current, purportedly edgier sci-fi writers.

    Now, I mostly read issues of the Economist from cover to cover, travel writings by Pico Iyer and Paul Theroux, anything about India (I am reading Patrick French’s take on the country), back issues of the New Yorker (100php at Booksale, woot!woot!), Schopenhauer, and eyeing William Faulkner and Flannery O’Connor with much trepidation (I am finding them a bit tedious). On my downtime, I read Dr. Seuss (one fish!two fish!) to my two nephews, as well as these fantastic books about animals that show how life is like for them in a zoo vis-a-viz the wild. We find the baby panda and baby elephant narratives the most informative.

    I wish to meet people who read books in ReaderCon. I honestly and objectively think I am a strange person and I usually just shut up about my tastes in art, films, politics and books when among friends because as per experience, it tends to silence the table and bring in the crickets. I don’t have anyone I know who reads and enjoys books like I do. I am a lone wolf, reading away and is frightened that my only recourse might be to create an imaginary book loving friend one day. Before I do that, maybe I’ll give Pinoy ReaderCon a chance.

Comments are closed.